theWeather magazine is showered with awards

Friday 09th Dec 2011 by theWeather Club

It was raining awards at theWeather magazine this week, after staff from LSC Publishing – the team behind theWeather Club's official publication – walked away beaming from the PPA's Independent Publisher Awards with a grand total of three trophies: Editor of the Year, Writer of the Year (consumer media) and the brilliant and much coveted title of Launch of the Year.

The awards were handed out amid a storm of applause at a lunchtime ceremony on Tuesday, and were a well-deserved reflection on the achievements of Mark Riddaway (who won Editor of the Year) and Writer of the Year Viel Richardson, both of whom have worked tirelessly to make the magazine the shining success that it – officially – now is.

What's more, the awards received on Tuesday were in fact just three out of the six nominations that the magazine team received in total: two more for Writer of the Year (consumer media), and one for Designer of the Year, making LSC Publishing the most nominated publishing company on the shortlist.

Organised by the PPA, the publishing industry's official trade association, and selected by a board of industry professionals and previous winners, the Independent Publisher Awards are open to independent publishers with a turnover of £7 million or below. To win not just one, but a hat trick of awards is welcome tribute to a magazine that has braved lifeboats, sky school, terrible songs about snow and the wettest place in Britain to bring news and features to its subscribers.